HomeSportsCAF Awards: Osimhen, Oshoala Make Final Shortlist

CAF Awards: Osimhen, Oshoala Make Final Shortlist

Two Nigerian football stars, Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala have been named in the CAF Player of the Year final three-man list for the men and women categories, respectively.

In the male category, Osimhen will have Egypt’s Mohammed Salah, Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi, and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez to beat for the prize.

The talented Super Eagles football star has to his credit, the top scorer in the 2023 African Cup Nations qualifiers.

The prolific striker was also instrumental in Napoli’s Scuddeto success last season, winning the Golden Boot after scoring 26 goals.

Reigning African women’s player of the year, Oshoala will battle with South Africa’s Thembi Klagtlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda for the top prize.

With her achievements so far in the round leather game, both home and abroad, the Barcelona football star is hoping to clinch the award.

With 27 goals in all competitions, Oshoala scored 21 goals in just 28 games to lead FC Barcelona to the 2022/23 Spanish League title and was the Spanish club’s top scorer.

The 28-year-old who also won the UEFA Women’s Champions League was instrumental as Barcelona retained their domestic title.

She also played her role in the national team at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. She made history as the first Nigerian and first female African player to score at three different editions of the FIFA World Cup.

The award ceremony will take place on 11 December 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read