The 2015 Silverbird Man of the year award is presently going on at the Convention Centre of Eko Hotel.  

Today the former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu and the first African Chartered Accountant, Chief Akintola Williams stand on the podium to receive the prestigious Silverbird Extraordinary Award. 

Beside the star winner, the award has been put under six categories, which include the Silverbird Post Humous Award; Silverbird Lifetime Achievement Award; Silverbird Extraordinary Award; Silverbird Special Achievement Award, Silverbird Lifetime Entertainment Award.

For the Post Humous Award, the list include former Premier of the old Western Region, Chief Ladoke Akintola Williams, former Governor of the od Easter Region, Akanu Ibiam, the only Prime Minister of Independent Nigeria, Tafawa Balewa, second republic Governor of Rivers State, Melford Okilo and former Deputy Head of State, Major Gen. Tunde Idiagbon (Retd).

For the Lifetime Achievment Award, such personalities like former Governor of Lagos State, Alhai Lateef Jakande, Veteran Fashion Designer Opral Benson, foremost entrepreneur Oba Otudeko, revered statesman Lulu Briggs, former Governor of Kaduna State, Balarabe Musa.

For the Silverbird Extraordinary Award, the former  Governor of Lagos State Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and the first Chartered Accountant in Africa, Chief Akintola Williams made the list.

The Silvebird Special Achievement Awards go to prolific writer and novelist, Chimamanda Adichie, Environmentalist, Desmond Majekodunmi, Founder BenTV, Alistair Soyode. Veteran Musician 

For the Silverbird Lifetime Entertament Award, the Afro Juju singer, King Sunny Ade, veteran musicians, Dr. Victor Uwaifo and Eddie Ugboma.

The sixth category, Silverbird Sports Achievement Awards go to Nigerian born British and Commonwealth Boxing Champion, Coach of the Dream Team VI, Nigeria Under- 23 Team and his counterpart for Under-17, Emmanuel Amuneke.  

It would be recalled that the former Governor of Delta state, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan won the 2014 Silverbird Man of the year award. 
He won based on his achievement in restoring peace and security to Delta state, massive infrastructural development, free medical care for children and the elderly and his acclaimed micro credit scheme.

Past winners of the prestigious Silverbird Man of the Year Award which is now in its 10th year, include late Professor Dora Akunyili, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo state, Doctor Mike Adenuga and Doctor Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.

Others are Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom state, Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos state, former Anambra state Governor, Peter Obi and former CBN Govermor, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, who is now the Emir of Kano.

In 2012, the Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala won the award for her efforts to reduce government’s recurrent expenditure and ensure transparency in the management of fuel subsidy. 

At the event, Post-Humous Award was bestowed on afro-beat king Fela Anikulapo-Kuti and Malam Aminu Kano while Chief Emeka Anyaoku and Newton Jibunoh received Lifetime Achievement Award at the ceremony.
The Silverbird Man of the Year was instituted to honour Nigerians who have excelled in their chosen careers.