The Senate has confirmed 18 out of the 21 first batch of the ministerial list sent to it for screening by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The confirmation came through voting by the lawmakers as directed by President of the Senate Bukola Saraki, who presided over the exercise that senators should subject the new ministers’ confirmation to voice vote.

The two that were not confirmed had their screening postponed and they are former Rivers State governor, Rotimi Amaechi and Barr. Adebayo Shittu .

Amaechi’s screening was put on hold following the inability of the Senate Committee on Ethics and Privileges and Public Petitions to submit its report on a petition filed against the ex-governor.

The Chairman of the committee, Senator Samuel Anyanwu, told the Senate that the report of the petition against Amaechi’s nomination as minister was not ready.

However, no reason was given for postponement of Shittu’s screening.
The successful nominees who have been cleared by the senate include former Governor of Lagos State Mr. Babatunde Fashola; his Ekiti State counterpart, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; the National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressive Congress, Alhaji Lai Mohammed and 15 others as ministers of the federal republic.

Others are Dr. Chris Ngige, the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Dr.  Ibe Kachikwu; Abubakar Malami (SAN), Senator Aisha Alhassan, Barr. Solomon Dalong, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, Senator Hadi Sirika, the ex-National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Chief Audu Ogbeh and Senator Udoma Udo Udoma.

The former National Chairman of All Nigeria Peoples Party, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Lt. Gen Abdulrahman Danbazzau, Mrs. Amina Mohammed, Suleiman Adamu and Ibrahim Jubrin completed the list.