President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday assigned portfolios to the four new ministers recently confirmed by the Senate.
The new ministers and their portfolios are: Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau -Minister of Education; Dr. Stephen Oru -Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Mr. Adedayo Adeyeye -Minister of State, Works; and Dr. Abdul Bulama -Minister of Science and Technology.
Jonathan directed the erstwhile Minister of State, Works, Ambassador Bashir Yuguda, to take over Minister of State, Finance.
He also told him to continue supervising the Ministry of National Planning until a substantive minister is named.
The President made the announcements after swearing in the new ministers shortly before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.
In his short remarks, he said the ministers’ appointment could not be described as enviable because they were brought in at a time when Nigerians expected a lot from them.
He urged them to perform not only to satisfy him but all Nigerians.
The Corp-Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps, Osita Chidoka, later decorated Jonathan as the Grand Patron of the Special Corp Marshal.