Davido and Tiwa Savage won the top male and female artist awards respectively Saturday night at the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards, known as MAMA, in Durban, South Africa, with local group Mafikizolo snagging the top group prize.
Marlon Wayans played host to the gala event that saw international artists including Miguel, Trey Songz and French Montana wow the audience with electrifying performances. Lupita Nyong’o gave her acceptance speech of the award for Personality of the Year with a personal video clip.
A poignant moment during the ceremony was dedicated to the late President Nelson Mandela. Rasty, a well-known African street artist, created a moving time-lapse video portrait to honor Mandela, featuring an acoustic performance from Afro-soul artist Simphiwe Dana of her song “Acapella.”
Wayans added his trademark humor to the show – broadcast live for the first time on MTV and MTV Base across sub-Saharan Africa –by arriving on a blinged-up rickshaw. He charmed the audience with video clips of himself portraying a clueless American reporter who stereotyped African talent during staged interviews, which were interspersed throughout the event. As the show progressed, so did Wayans’ knowledge of Africa, providing a funny, yet cultural touch to the event.
Created by African urban music and youth entertainment channel, MTV Base, the MAMA awards recognize youth culture, music and achievers of sub-Saharan Africa, rewarding achievement In 18 different categories, including music (15) and Iife style (3).
While primarily a music awards show, organizers say the MAMA reflects the ambition of MTV Base parent company, Viacom international Media Networks Africa, to support African contemporary artists and musicians, to present a positive, upbeat and modern image of Africa in Western and to inspire young Africans in Africa and the Diaspora.
“Tonight’s MAMA 2014 was truly spectacular and a true testament to the passion, commitment and creativity of contemporary music, youth culture and achievement on the African continent,” said Alex Okosi, senior VP and managing director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa.
BET International will premiere the show on June 12. The show will be broadcast in all international territories throughout the summer.
A Complete list of winners of the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards follows:
Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)
Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)
Best Collaboration: “Y-tjukutja” – Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola)
 Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)
 Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
 Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)
 Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
 Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)
 Song of the Year: “Khona” – Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa)
 Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
 Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)
 Best International: Pharrell
 Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)
 MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)
Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)