The UN General Assembly has elected Nigeria and 14 other countries to serve on the human rights council for the 2018  to 2020 term.
The human rights council is the highest inter-governmental body in the u.n system for matters relating to protection and promotion of human rights worldwide.
The other newly elected countries to the Geneva-based Human Rights Council are Afghanistan, Angola, Australia, Chile and the Democratic Republic of Congo.
Others are Mexico, Nepal, Pakistan, Peru, Qatar, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain and Ukraine.
All would serve three-year terms beginning from January 1, 2018