As the easing of lockdown commences in some countries, quarantine rules for people returning to, or visiting the UK from certain countries will be relaxed today.

In furtherance to this new development, the UK Government has published a list of 76 countries and territories from which people arriving into England will no longer need to self-isolate for 14 days, Evening Standard reports.

Some of the countries are: Spain, Germany, France and Italy.

The nations that may likely not appear are: The US, Thailand and China including Portugal.

Passengers will still be required to provide contact information on arrival in England.

So far, there will be quarantine requirement for those travelling from low to medium-risk countries as the list of countries exempt from the 14-day quarantine rules will also apply in Wales, while Northern Ireland.

Meanwhile, the Scottish Government has produced a list of 39 countries, which does not include Spain.

Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said the “difficult decision” had been driven by the evidence in relation to the prevalence of coronavirus.