All tertiary institutions owned by Osun State Government have been shut.

A source told our correspondent that members of staff of the institutions, which include two polytechnics in Iree and Esa Oke, two Colleges of Education in Ila Orangun and Ilesa and the Osun State University in Osogbo and Ikire have embarked on industrial strike.

The source stated that the staff shut down academic activities on campuses due to the sack of about 141 members of the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics, ASUP, and Non-Academic Staff Union, NASU, in the state owned tertiary institutions.