Kevin de Bruyne has been crowned as the Premier League 2019/20 PFA Players’ Player of the Year, with Trent Alexander-Arnold named the PFA Young Player of the Year.

The pair were due to receive their awards on April 26, which was then pushed back after the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic forced the awards ceremony to be cancelled.

Instead, De Bruyne and Alexander-Arnold were provided their crowning moments during a virtually held awards ceremony.

De Bruyne saw off competition from team-mate Raheem Sterling, alongside a Liverpool quartet consisting of last year’s winner Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Jordan Henderson

The midfielder reached new heights in a disrupted 2019/20 Premier League campaign, scoring 13 goals while equalling Thierry Henry’s long-standing assists record with 20.

Alexander-Arnold saw off entirely English opposition to win the award, beating Manchester United pair Mason Greenwood and Marcus Rashford, Chelsea duo Mason Mount and Tammy Abraham and Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka.

The 21-year-old played a pivotal role as Liverpool marched to a first-ever Premier League title last season, scoring four goals and providing 13 assists in another standout campaign.

Evening Standard