After leading Liverpool to win the 2019/2020 EPL title, Captain Jordan Henderson has won the Football Writers’ Association Men’s Footballer of the Year award.

This development occurred after Henderson received more than a quarter of the votes BBC reports.

Henderson who led Liverpool to their first league title in 30 years this season, made some comments after the clinching the prestigious award.

The 30-year-old midfielder who is recovering from a knee injury said, “As grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own,” he said.

“I owe a lot to so many people but none more so than my current team-mates, who have been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.”

Amongst other players that finished in the top dive are: Liverpool team-mates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane, Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne and Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford.

Before achieving the feat, Henderson, On Wednesday, received the Premier League trophy from Reds legend Sir Kenny Dalglish at a near-empty Anfield.

Speaking further, Henderson said, “I accept [the award] on behalf of this whole squad, because without them I’m not in a position to be receiving this honour. These lads have made me a better player – a better leader and a better person.

“If anything I hope those who voted for me did so partly to recognise the entire team’s contribution.”

Another trophy that Henderson has lifted in his football career is the Fifa Club World Cup trophy which he received  for the first time, in December.