Asarums IF midfielder Halimatu Ayinde was a shock omission from CAF Best XI of the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations following the conclusion of the tournament in Ghana.

Ayinde was the unsung hero as the Super Falcons were crowned champions for the ninth time after a hard fought win on penalties against South Africa in the showpiece staged in Accra on Saturday evening.

Goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi posted four shutouts from a possible five and has been selected in goal in the tournament’s ceremonial best eleven.

And joining the Rivers Angels gloves-woman in the best eleven is the oldest member of the Super Falcons squad,

Henan Huishang’s Onome Ebi, who was selected in central defense.

Current African Women’s Footballer of the Year Asisat Oshoala managed to score in only one game during the competition in Ghana and has been ignored in the best XI.

The former Liverpool and Arsenal striker is on the bench along with Francisa Ordega.

Though goalkeeper Oluehi had an outstanding tournament, it is unfashionable to award the Golden Ball to goalkeepers.

The Technical Study Group (TSG) selected South Africa’s Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana as Woman of the Competition; she also won the Golden Boot award.


Goalkeeper: Tochukwu Oluehi (Nigeria)

Defenders: Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa), Janine Van Wyk (South Africa), Onome Ebi (Nigeria), Claudine Meffometou Tcheno (Cameroon)

Midfielders: Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon), Marlyse Ngo Ndoumbouk (Cameroon), Elizabeth Addo (Ghana)

Forwards: Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (cameroon), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa), Bassira Toure (Mali)


Kaylin Swart (South Africa), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria), Linda Motlhalo (South Africa), Genevieve Ngo Mbeleck (Cameroon), Francisa Ordega (Nigeria), Fatoumata Diarra (Mali