Enugu Rangers produced a miraculous come-back at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba, Delta State, on Wednesday after holding Kano Pillars 3-3 in regulation time before beating Sai Masu Gida 4-2 on penalties to win the 2018 Aiteo Cup in dramatic fashion.

Rangers found themselves three goals down in the 50th minute but a titanic resurgence in the 77th minute spearheaded by substitute Kelvin Itoya saw the Flying Antelopes draw level before holding their nerves to win the ensuing penalty shoot out and send their fans, led by the Enugu State Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, into delirious celebrations at the packed Asaba stadium.

Rangers, who last won the title in 1983, thus take over from 2017 champions Akwa United, who were ousted in the quarter-finals.

They were rewarded with N25m while Pillars went home with N10m.

Rangers will represent Nigeria in the 2019 CAF Confederation Cup.