Nigerian football star Victor Osimhen, has been named on the 30- man list of 2019 African Player of the Year award.

The Lille star joins other African football stars like Mohamed Salah Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Riyad Mahrez, Percy Tau, Wilfred Ndidi on the preliminary list of nominee.

In 2018 after impressing for both club and country Salah beat Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to the individual honour.

Salah will be in competition this year with Osimhen, the  young Lille forward who has been in fine scoring form since his move from Royal Charleroi Sporting Club.

Another Nigerian Odion Ighalo 2019 African Cup of Nations top scorer Odion, 2016 winner Riyad Mahrez, and Atletico Madrid midfield Trojan Thomas Partey have also made the list.

Other prominent players nominated are Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi, Achraf Hakimi of Borussia Dortmund, Napoli star Kalidou Koulibaly and PSG’s Idrissa Gueye.

The awards will be held on Tuesday, January 7 2020, at Citadel Azure, Hurghada, Egypt.

Look below for the list.

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund), André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax),  Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria & Al-Sadd) , Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah), Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain), Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax), Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain), Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan), Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli),  Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain), Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa), Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk) , Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool),  Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto), Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool) , Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal) , Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua) , Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge),  Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal) , Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City) , Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance) , Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid) , Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille) , Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City),  Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace) ·      Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)