States in the country that are yet to implement the N30, 000 new minimum wage up until January 31, have been told by the Trade Union Congress to comply or risk industrial action from workers.

The ultimatum was given by the union in a communiqué issued at the end of its National Executive Council meeting in Lagos on Thursday.

Another crucial process that took place was that, the President, TUC, Quadri Olaleye and the Secretary General, TUC, Musa Lawal, went ahead to signed the communiqué.

The content read in part, “The congress advises all state governments that have not complied with the implementation and immediate payment of the N30, 000 new national minimum wage to commence negotiations and implementation on or before 31st January, 2020.

“Otherwise the state governments should be responsible for the consequences of their failure. State councils have been directed to commence mobilisation of their members immediately.”

The Organised labour has agreed to meet on Monday, to review the minimum wage negotiations between states and workers across Nigeria.

On the states that have not complied; so far, Ekiti, Cross River, Benue, Gombe, Osun, Sokoto, Oyo, Niger, Ogun, Enugu, Bayelsa, Rivers, Kwara, Taraba and Anambra states have reportedly not agreed on consequential adjustments of salaries.

While Lagos, Kaduna, Bauchi, Kastina and Borno states had agreed to pay the new minimum wage, other states started negotiations few days to the end of the December 31, 2019 deadline.