As Nigeria plans to open its airspace, the Federal Government said on Thursday that it will enforce the principle of reciprocity.

This development has to do with imposing reciprocity when it comes to granting permission to airlines.

According to the government, what this means is that only airlines from countries that allow flights from Nigeria will be allowed to fly into and out of Nigeria The Punch reports.

As the EU had recently banned flights and visitors from Nigeria, it specifically stated that airlines from the European Union would not be allowed into Nigeria

More so, the Council of the European Union had opened its borders to 15 countries, excluding Nigeria, on July 2, 2020,

According to information obtained from the EU website at the time, Nigeria was still not a part of the countries from where visitors were allowed into Europe.