Students of the Computer Science Department of Lagos State University have emerged as winners in the 2019 edition of the Don Etiebet Award for the Best Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) in Computer Science projects conducted for students from tertiary institutions. LASU was represented by Akinlabi Bakare and Damilare Anjorin who came 1st and 3rd positions respectively. Both students were supervised by Dr. Toyin Enikuomehin. Akinlabi bagged the award on the topic ” An Application for Sharing non-required household items” which runs on both web and mobile. The solution can be used by individual as a tool for sharing non-used household items to those that genuinely need them. Donor organizations, Loan Managers etc can also use some modules in the Application. According to the supervisor, the application uses some intrinsic algorithms for intent prediction and analysis which builds a level of intelligence into the system such that the system can rank the request received based on genuine need for the non-required item.

Previous winners of the Don Etiebet Award include Olabanjo Olusola, Ololade Dosumu, Ajiboye Tolulope supervised by Prof. Benjamin Aribisala, Dr Toyin Enikuomehin and Dr Bolu Akinnuwesi respectively.

Some participants of the event organized by the Nigeria Computer Society, noted that LASU Computer Science is fast becoming a “Software Warehouse” where organizations can seek software solutions to their problems without the need to source for such outside Nigeria.

Earlier in the week, LASU NACOSS (National Association of Computer Science Students) came first in the General Science Quiz and Debate competition organized by the National Association of Science Students (NASS) for all departmental associations in the Faculty of Science.

The department was represented by Abdulrasaq Saheed Olalekan and Ekwerike Prosper Chiemela