Manchester City coach Pep Guardiola has been voted manager of the year by the League Managers Association.

The award was given to the Spaniard after he led City to their third Premier League title in four years.

Apart from Guardiola, five other managers contended for the award. They were: Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa, Norwich City’s Daniel Farke, Chelsea Women’s Emma Hayes, David Moyes of West Ham and Leicester’s Brendan Rodgers.

 Guardiola, who previously won it in 2017-18, has made comments concerning the feat. He said, “I am delighted to win the LMA manager of the year award for the second time,” 

“It is, for me, such a special trophy to win because it is voted for by my fellow managers. An award like this is only possible though if a manager is surrounded by top professionals.

“My players have been fantastic – their dedication and professionalism never wavered, even in a season that has been the most challenging we have ever faced.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be.

“This award is dedicated to and shared with them.”