Governor Rotimi Akeredolu has been declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Ondo state, having polled the highest score of 292,830 votes.

This development was disclosed by the Independent National Electoral Commission after the electoral body declared Gov. Akeredolu winner.

The Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, was defeated by Gov. Akeredolu. He who got 195,791 votes, and the Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi, of the Zenith Labour Party, who came a distant third with 69, 127 votes.

The announcement was made on Sunday at the INEC headquarters in Akure by the Ondo State Election Chief Returning Officer, and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Prof Idowu Olayinka.

Olayinka said, “I hereby certify that I am the returning officer of the Ondo State election and that the election was conducted and the candidates received the following votes – Oluwarotimi

Akeredolu got 292,830, Eyitayo Jegede got 195,791 and Agboola Ajayi got 69,127.

“That Oluwarotimi Akeredolu secured the highest number of votes among the 17 contestants. Moreover, he was expected to score 25 per cent in two-thirds of the state but he scored it across the 18 LGAs.

“Consequently, having satisfied the requirements of the law, I hereby declare Akeredolu as the winner and he is hereby returned elected.”