The Federal Executive Council has approved the take-off of eight private universities in a bid to satisfy the demand of millions of Nigerian students seeking admission.

The universities are to be licensed provisionally for a three-year period.
The council also approved the revision of the cost for the completion of the Port Harcourt international airport from over seven hundred and seventy seven million naira to about one point six billion naira.

The eight universities and their promoters include Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos, owned by Deeper Christian Life Ministry; Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River, engineered by the Clitter House Nigeria Limited; Clifford University, Owerrinta, Abia, owned by Seventh Day Adventist Church; Coal City University, Enugu, operated by African Thinkers Community of Inquiry College of Education, Enugu; Crown-Hill University, Eiyenkorin, Kwara, floated by Modern Morgy and Sons Limited; Dominican University, Ibadan, the brainchild of Order of Preachers, Nigerian Dominican Community; Kola Daisi University, Ibadan came from Kola Daisi Foundation and Legacy University, Okija, an idea of The Good Idea Education Foundation.