The 14th edition of the first virtual Headies award has been held on Sunday 21, 2021.

The Nigerian music awards show, which is usually held to recognize outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry was virtual this time, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and hosted by funnyman Bovi and Nancy Isime.

Speaking on the virtual idea for the show, the organiser of the award ceremony, Ayo Animashaun, said it was difficult yet interesting.

When the nominees for the awards were announced in December 2020, Fireboy DML led the artists with nine nominations, while Burnaboy, Davido, Wizkid and Wurld followed with six nominations each.

Interestingly, it was recorded that artists like Fireboy DML, Bad Boy Timz and Omah Lay, who are fast gainng recognition in the Nigerian music industry received their first plaque in this edition.

Here is the list of winners:

Producer of The Year

Pheelz – Billionaire by Teni

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Niniola – Addicted

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Praiz – Under The Sky

Best Street Hop Artiste

Mayorkun – Geng

Rookie of The Year

Bad Boy Tims – MJ

Best Pop Single

Nobody – DJ Neptune feat Joe Boy and Mr Eazi

Best Collabo

Ladipoe and Simi – Know you

Best Alternative song

Moelogo – I wonder

Best Rap Single

Falz – Bop Daddy feat. MS Banks

Best R&B Album

Fireboy DML – Tears, laughter and goosebumps

Best Alternative Album

Roots – The Cavemen

Next Rated

Omah -Lay

Viewers Choice Award


Songwriter of the Year

Simi – Duduke

Best Pop Award

Fireboy – Apollo

Lyricist on The Roll

Ilbliss Goretti – Country

African Artiste Recognition Award

Master KG

Headies Hall of Fame

King Sunny Ade