The prestigious Silverbird Man of the Year Award conceptualized by the Chairman of Silverbird Group, Senator Ben Murray- Bruce, in 2005 to celebrate Nigerians who have impacted positively on the lives of Nigerians in their chosen careers and public office.

To ensure credibility of the award, the Editorial Board nominates ,but the eventual winner is chosen by member of the public through voting. The nominee with the highest number of votes is declared winner of the award on the first of January every year through the Silverbird news channels.

A close look at the past winners shows that they have touched and are still touching the lives of Nigerians positively through their public offices and businesses . Various categories of awards have been introduced over the years.

They include the Silverbird Extraordinary Personality Award, Silverbird Extraordinary Achievement Award, Silverbird Lifetime Achievement Award, Silverbird Special Achievement Award, Silverbird Financial Sector Award, the Silverbird Posthumous Award. We have only had joint winners twice in the fifteen -year history of Silverbird Man of the Year .

Past Winners

Past Winners

That was in 2011 and 2013. There was no winner in 2015, but the Silverbird Extraordinary Achievement Award was conferred on the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress and former Governor of Lagos state, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu. It might interest you to know that the first winner of the Silverbird Man of the Year was a woman. : Professor Dora Akunyili, who was then the Director-General of National Agency for Food, Drug, Administration and Control, NAFDAC.

Her relentless battle against counterfeit drugs earned her the award. She later became the Minister of Information and Communication in two thousand and eight. She held that position till 2014, and she died on July 4, 2014 at the age of 59. May the Lord bless her soul. SILVERBIRD MAN OF THE YEAR ..

1. Prof Dora Akunyili—– 2005. 2. Mallam Nasir El-Rufai– 2006. 3. Mallam Nuhu Ribadu —- 2007.. 4. Adams Oshiomhole….. 2008. 6. Dr Mike Adenuga– 2009. 5. HRH Sanusi Lamido Sanusi— 2010. 7. Alhaji Aliko Dangote/ Senator Godswill Akpabio— 2011. 8. Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala—- 2012. 9. Mr Babatunde Fashola/ Mr Peter Obi– 2013 10. Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan—- 2014. 11. No winner —-2015. 12. Governor Willie Obiano— 2016. 13. Governor Nyesom Wike—- 2017. 14. Governor Ifeanyi Okowa —- 2018. 15. Governor Aminu Tambuwal —-2019