The Silverbird Group, owner of the Silverbird Television and Rhythm FM has unveiled five nominees for the 2019 Man of the year Awards.

The organisers of the event have found five Nigerians worthy of winning the prestigious award, which began about 14 years ago. The nominees include the Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal, Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki ,the Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde and the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige.

Also included in the star category is Mr. Tony Onyemaechi Elumelu, a Nigerian economist, entrepreneur, and philanthropist. He is the chairman of Heirs Holdings, the United Bank for Africa.

According to the management of Silverbird Group, the prestigious Silverbird Man of the Year award was instituted 14 years ago to recognize individuals who have impacted positively on the lives of Nigerians through their chosen careers.

Past winners of the Silverbird Man of the Year Award which was instituted to recognize individuals who have affected the lives of Nigerians positively include, Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State, Professor Dora Akunyili, Governor Nasir El- Rufai, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, Adams Oshiomhole, Doctor Mike Adenuga, Senator Godswill Akpabio and Alhaji Aliko Dangote.

Others are Doctor Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Peter Obi, Babatunde Fashola , Doctor Emmanuel Emmanuel Uduaghan and Governor Willie Obiano.

Other distinguished Individuals that were conferred with various awards at the event included the Silverbird Extra Ordinary Business Awards given to Deji Ali, Leo Stan Ekeh, Doctor Ola Orekunrin and Alhaji Samad Rabiu.