The Federal Government has extended the lockdown eralier  declared on the Federal Capital Territory Abuja,Lagos and Ogun States as it continues to prevent the spread of the dreaded Coronavirus.

President Muhammadu Buhari said this during a live broadcast on the national television on Monday, adding that residents of these states would stay at home for another 14 days.

He said the decision to extend the initial 14-day lockdown was taken “having carefully considered the briefings and Report from the Presidential Task Force and the various options offered.”

“It has become necessary to extend the current restriction of movement in Lagos and Ogun States as well as the FCT for another 14 days effective from 11:59 pm on Monday, 13th of April, 2020.

“I am therefore once again asking you all to work with Government in this fight.

“This is not a joke. It is a matter of life and death. Mosques in Makkah and Madina have been closed. The Pope celebrated Mass on an empty St. Peter’s Square.