The spread of coronavirus globally has prompted Italy on Thursday, to ban entry of people coming from 13 countries.

The reason for this development is that, it presented an excessive rate of COVID-19 infections, Travel Guide by The Jakarta Post reports.

Meanwhile, a list of countries compiled by the health ministry comprises Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brazil, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile, Kuwait, North Macedonia, Moldova, Oman, Panama, Peru and Dominican Republic.

Health Minister Roberto Speranza disclosed in a statement that,

The ban affects anyone who has stayed in or travelled through these countries in the last 14 days.

The way the ban works goes thus: travellers from all other countries outside the European Union and the Schengen free movement area can come to Italy but must observe 14 days of quarantine on arrival.

Speaking further, Speranza said, “Around the world the pandemic is in its most acute phase. We cannot waste the sacrifices the Italians have made in recent months.”

Going memory lane on the deadly pandemic, Italy was the first European country to be hit hard by the coronavirus after its outbreak first emerged on Feb. 21.

When the pandemic entered Italy, it ravaged the nation terribly, killing 35,000 people.

Although, the daily tally of fatalities and new infections have dwindled to a fraction of those seen at the peak of its epidemic in late March.