Members of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly have elected Hon. Tonye Emmanuel Isenah who is representing Kolokuma/Opokuma Constituency 1 as the new speaker of the sixth Assembly.

Hon. Tonye Isenah emerged the speaker in the first inaugural sitting of the sixth Assembly through a unanimous decision, after being nominated by Hon. Ebiowor Koku Obiyai representing Yenagoa Constituency 2 and Seconded by Hon. Mitema Obordor of Ogbia Constituency 2.

Until his emergence as the speaker of the sixth assembly, Hon. Tonye Isenah is a third time state lawmaker and former Chief Whip of the fifth Assembly.

Hon. Abraham Ngobere, a former deputy speaker of the fifth Assembly who is representing Brass Constituency 3, was also re-elected Deputy Speaker.

The two principal officers were sworn in by the Clerk of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, Kozi Owudogu-Edward who presided over the election of the principal officers.

The New Speaker of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, Hon. Tonye Emmanuel Isenah, later sworn in other members of the House.