The Federal Government today alerted the public to the outbreak of Avian Influenza or Birdflu in the FCT and seven states of the country. 

The Director of Veterinary and Pest Control Services, Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Gideon Mshelbwala, raised the alert at a meeting with state Commissioners for Agriculture in Abuja. 

Dr. Mshelbwala listed the states affected by the outbreak to include Bauchi, , Kano, Katsina, Nasarawa, Plateau, FCT and kaduna, which reported a case in May 30.