The Governor of Anambra State Willie Obiano, the Governor of Ogun State, Ibikunle Amosun, the Governor of Sokoto State Aminu Tambuwal and Chief Executive Officer of BUA Group, Abdulsamad Rabiu have been nominated for the Silverbird Man of the Year, 2016.
Governor Obiano was nominated for prudent management of resources and embarking on projects to generate revenue for Anambra state, Governor Amosun for infrastructure development and attracting several businesses to Ogun State and Governor Tambuwal for encouraging girl-child education, improving the education sector generally and infrastructure renewal in Sokoto State. 
To vote for any nominee, simply text SMY, leave a space, then the ‎name of your choice and send to 33120.
Past winners of the prestigious Silverbird Man of the Year Award, which was instituted to recognize individuals who have impacted  the lives of Nigerians positively in their chosen careers include late Professor Dora Akunyili, Governor Nasir El-Rufai, Nuhu Ribadu, Adams OSHIOMHOLE and Aliko Dangote. 
Others are Senator  Godswill Akpabio, Mike Adenuga, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Babatunde Fashola, Peter Obi and Emmanuel Uduaghan.