The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was established by the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to among other things organize elections into various political offices in the country. The Commission was established in accordance with section 153(f) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
The origin of the INEC dates back to the period before Independence when it was first known as the Electoral Commission of Nigeria (ECN) which was established to conduct 1959 elections then the Federal Electoral Commission (FEC) in 1960 was established to conduct the immediate post-independence federal and regional elections of 1964 and 1965. The body was dissolved after the military coup of 1966 and in 1978 under  the regime of General Olusegun Obasanjo, the Federal Electoral Commission was again setup to organizing the elections of 1979 which saw in the Nigerian Second Republic under the leadership of Alhaji Shehu Shagari. It also conducted the general elections of 1983.
In addition, under the regime of General Sani Abacha  another Electoral body was introduced known as National Electoral Commission of Nigeria (NECON) in December and the body conducted another set of elections (Local Government councils to National Assembly). The sudden death of General Abacha brought an end to the process of the not inaugurated election institutions on June 1998. In 1998 General Abdulsalam Abubakar's Administration dissolved NECON and established the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) ,INEC organized the transitional elections that ushered in the Nigerian Fourth Republic on May 29, 1999 and till today has the been the one and the only body that conducts and oversees the country’s elections. 
INEC is guided by their mission statement, vision statement and values thus they strive to be one of the best Election Management Bodies (EMB) in the world that meets the aspirations of the Nigerian people and work to serve as an independent and effective EMB committed to the conduct of free, fair and credible elections for sustainable democracy in Nigeria not forgetting their values too which also conforms them to making sure election is conducted properly. The first chairman INEC as at 1999 election was Ephraim Akpata, and he was appointed under General Abudulsalami Abubakar administration, he conducted and ushered in the Obansanjo’s tenure in 1999. Subsequent chairmen have therefore been appointed after him and the current and present one is Professor Attahiru Muhammadu Jega, OFR.
INEC  is made up of  the National commissioners, the secretary, the INEC committees and chairpersons, INEC state offices, Directors, Administrative  secretaries and finally development patners all these  aforementioned work hand in hand to help make sure  INEC produces good results for the benefits of Nigerians.