• By bassey
    Nov 18, 2016
    Super Falcons

    A first ever continental title is the goal for Cameroon when the women's Africa Cup of Nations kicks off on Saturday but will the hosts flourish or collapse under the weight and pressure of expectation?

    The Indomitable Lionesses are one of seven teams desperate to deny Nigeria another African title.

    The Super Falcons are the dominant force on the continent, having been crowned African champions seven times.

    On the two occasions that they misfired, Equatorial Guinea took the honours.

    Florence Omagbemi's side are not exactly hot favourites this time around but they are warm enough to suggest it would be an upset if it went the other way.

    As captain of the Super Falcons, Omagbemi won the African title four times but this is her first tournament as coach.

    "Yes, it's my first tournament as a coach but my experience as a player has prepared me for this. Teams want to beat Nigeria, we will work extra hard to retain the title," Omagbemi told BBC Sport on the eve of the 10th edition of the continental championship.

    Apart from Nigeria, only South Africa and Cameroon have appeared at every tournament since the event began in 1998 as the African Women's Championship.

    After finishing third in 2012 and runners-up in 2014, the hosts have set their sights on winning the big prize on home soil.

    They have been boosted by the return from injury of the reigning African Women's Player of the Year, Gaelle Enganamouit.



    This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
    Image CAPTCHA
    Enter the characters shown in the image.
    Refresh Type the characters you see in this picture. Type the characters you see in the picture; if you can't read them, submit the form and a new image will be generated. Not case sensitive.  Switch to audio verification.
  • Related Posts

  • Post Comment to Facebook