Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike has been crowned Silverbird Man of the year for 2017.

The winner of the prestigious Silverbird Man of the Year Award was nominated for embarking on a massive infrastructure development in Rivers state, earning him the title , “Mister Projects”.

Past winners of the Silverbird Man of the Year Award which was instituted to recognize individuals who have affected the lives of Nigerians positively include, Professor Dora Akunyili, Governor Nasir El- Rufai, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, Adams Oshiomhole, Doctor Mike Adenuga, Senator Godswill Akpabio and Alhaji Aliko Dangote.

Others are Doctor Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Peter Obi, Babatunde Fashola , Doctor Emmanuel Emmanuel Uduaghan and Governor Willie Obiano.

Other distinguished Individuals that were conferred with various awards at the event included the Silverbird Extra Ordinary Business Awards given to Deji Ali, Leo Stan Ekeh, Doctor Ola Orekunrin and Alhaji Samad Rabiu.

The Silverbird Lifetime Achievement Award were bestowed on Chief Abba Folawiyo , Senator Daisy Danjuma, Lady Maiden Ibru and Stella Chinyelu Okoli.

The Silverbird Post Humous Award were given to Chief MKO Abiola, Dim Emeka Odumegwu Ojukwu and Doctor Abubakar Olusola Saraki.

The Silverbird Extra Ordinary Personality Award goes to Ronald Chagoury.

The CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele and the Governor of Kebbi state, Abubakar Bagudu received the Silverbird Special Achievement Award while the Silverbird Education Award was given to the Governor of Bayelsa State, Seraike Dickson.

Another award went  to Governor, Ayodele Fayose as the Silverbird Man of the People.

The Silverbird Legislative Award went to Senator Ike Ekweremadu and Femi Gbajabiamila.

The Wife of the President, Aisha Buhari represented by former Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Mrs. Joke Orelope-Adefulire received the Silverbird Personality of the Award while the Silverbird Public Servant Awardwent to Babatunde Fowler.